These days, problems with pollution are becoming worse, particularly in large cities. What are the reasons for this and how can this be solved?

In today's world, the issue of air pollution has become a major concern in metropolitan cities. I personally believe that there are two principal reasons for this problem, overpopulation and burning fossil fuels. This essay will discuss these problems and how to address them appropriately, using a relevant example from the BBC news and Queensland University to demonstrate points and prove arguments. Environmentalist throughout the world has advised that the world is overpopulation since the advent of industrialization, particularly largest cities with the highest population density. This problem causes the majority of dweller citizen prefers to live in main metropolitan areas as a result of lack of job opportunities, development and resources in rural areas. For example, an empirical research by Queensland University suggested that the urban population has grown in importance over the last decade. This is due to the fact health public system, facilities and infrastructure has greater advantages and advanced technologies in comparison with rural areas. Consistent with this line of thinking, governments should allocate more public funds and foster the development of public services to rural areas with the aim of creating more opportunities for the local people and reducing the existing problem of air pollution in major cities. Another reason as regard to the problem of contamination is the burning fossil fuels. Major cities such as Mumbai, Taipei and Beijing started building powerful power plant near to residential areas in order to meet high demand for electricity. This leads to electricity produced is powered by burning of coal and as a consequence, carbon dioxide is released to our environment. For example, an article published by BBC news showed that 20% of the population in Taiwan has suffered lung cancer as a result of contaminated particulars into the air generated from the power plant. Therefore, it is no doubt that leaders worldwide should impose harsh restrictions and act to curb carbon emission rate by 20% in large cities. To conclude from the arguments and examples given I firmly believe that governments around the world should work together to combat and defeat the effect of air pollution by imposing severe penalties and promote the development of rural areas. In the future, there will be more challenges to overcome in terms of climate changes.