Some students do not have the natural ability for other languages. Some people think that schools should not force students to learn foreign languages.

It is argued that undergraduates should not be mandatory to study a second language. Personally, I disagree with this view because of several reasons. There are many benefits of studying foreign languages. Firstly, second languages pay dividends for the career prospects of students. In modern days, the spectacular growth of international trade has created numerous job opportunities. Therefore, those who are competent at foreign languages will have many career choices. Secondly, learning a second language may help children to broaden their horizons. Children are able to watch movies, films and other programs in foreign languages to know more about the culture of other countries. This may make children more knowledgeable and easier to blend in with other groups of people when they have opportunities to live, study and work in foreign nations. Moreover, learning a foreign language is not that difficult. Because it does not require any special talents. Those who do not have an innate talent for language can reach an acceptable level by the virtue of hard work. With support, encouragement and teaching methods, teachers can help their students to overcome challenges and achieve the best results in the studying process. Because of the given advantages of learning foreign languages, I believe that making it a compulsory subject is a judicious decision. In conclusion, regardless of ability, I profoundly believe that all students can successfully learn a second language and it should be an obligatory subject in schools.