These days, people can buy cheaper products compared to those living in the past. While there are compelling benefits of this trend such as the increasing living standards among citizens and the positive competition between companies, its drawbacks on the quality of products and the environment need to be considered.

These days, people can buy cheaper products compared to those living in the past. While there are compelling benefits of this trend such as the increasing living standards among citizens and the positive competition between companies, its drawbacks on the quality of products and the environment need to be considered. There are particular benefits when customers can purchase inexpensive goods such as increasing living standards, especially in developing countries. For example, 40 years ago, a black and white television’s cost was exorbitant which only the minority of people could afford. However, nowadays, a family of average income can purchase an LCD television from famous brands such as Samsung or LG at much-reduced price ranges. Secondly, it may encourage constructive competition among companies. As many products of similar functions and appearances are on display in the supermarket, the manufacturers have to innovate their products to gain a competitive edge over their opponents. Hence, customers can benefit from such competition and likely lead a more comfortable and convenient life. Nonetheless, buying low-priced goods often leads to a reduction in quality. This is because corporations tend to mass-produce with lower operating costs to meet the huge demand of the public who mostly would choose affordable products regardless of their brand name. In addition, mass production of cheap consumer goods may lead to environmental degradation as such products are often used once and then discarded. To illustrate, several products are non-biodegradable and therefore can remain as waste for thousands of years underground or in the ocean, ‘turning the planet into a landfill and posing a threat to all creatures including humans’. In conclusion, although there are certain advantages of buying low-cost goods such as improving the living standard of customers, particular disadvantages affecting the goods’ quality and the environment should not be neglected.