some people think advertisement are only to persuade people to buy things while other think that they can be a source of knowledge. to which viewpoint you agree?

Advertising is the form of communication between consumers and the companies. It is inevitable that advertisements have a huge impact on mass. It is said that, “what you visualize, you materialize”, and keeping this in mind, companies are targeting the consumers via various channels. The influence of these advertisements whether they are being only the source of encouragement among people to purchase products, or being also the reason of awareness that will eventually lead to a better life is always a debatable topic. I certainly agree to the first viewpoint in this regard. On one hand, people support the idea that adverts help the consumers save money by informing them about the bargains. Catalog and broachers enable people to compare brands and services at leisure. If you do not have time to shop around, you can rely on the advertisements to buy new commodities. For instance, a survey in U. K. showed that 80% of working ladies bought automatic washing machine promoting diamond drums instead of regular ones, in last 2 years by having a glance on billboards on their way to their work place. This is the perfect example of how convincing these promotions are for the targeted consumer. On the other hand, advertising are usually for brands and services that we do not really need. A number of advertisements create artificial wants. People frequently invest on things only due to the image of power, success and glamour associated with them. Children are easily influenced by commercials and then pester their parents to buy certain products. An eminent example is the Black Friday advertising season, which pushes up to billions of rupees profit where people keep buying on things that they don’t actually need merely due the fact of tempting sale offers. In conclusion, where advertisements could be a source of generating awareness among society, it’s merely a promotional tool targeting desire of buying things more. The ultimate aim of these advertising is to subtly persuade people to purchase things.