These days people are living into their 90s and beyond. As a result, there is increasing concern about care for the elderly. Do you think it is the responsibility of the family to care for their elderly members or should the government be held responsible?

Thanks to the best medical facilities, the average life of human being has increased substantially. Many people believe that it is the family members, who should take responsibility of older people, whereas some are on view that the government owns this responsibility. I think that relatives should take responsibility of their elders and the government should only intervene when there is no one who can take off the old. To commence with, family members should take responsibility of the elderly. Firstly, the parents took responsibility of their children when they were young. They nurtured, protected and guided them to live in this world. When their parents become old, it becomes their moral duty to take care of them. Secondly, older people can be nurtured better by their children and no nurse or hospital can match this. This is because of the bond of love between them. When people get old, then they need love from their family as much as they need medicines to stay healthy. For example, old people usually feel lonely, this can easily tackled if family members stay around and take care of them. On the other hand, people give argument that the administration should take care of the elderly, because mature people are often busy with their work schedules, so cannot be around them all the time. Therefore, the administration should set up old age centres, with all the medical facilities to take responsibility of them. For instance, in case of a sudden heart attack, if a person is already in the old age centre, then the treatment can start earlier and hence, there are higher chances of survival. To conclude, some people claim that it is better if the government takes up the responsibility of the elders. However, I believe that the relatives can take responsibility of them in a better way because the old people need love and attention.