These days people are living into their 90s and beyond. As a result, there is increasing concern about care for the elderly. Do you think it is the responsibility of the family to care for their elderly members or should the government be held responsible?

Due to the advent of medical science, the life expectancy among human beings has increased drastically and several people are living beyond their nineties. Because of this, there is an inherent need for the care of elderly people and rising concerns around it. In my view, though every family takes care of the elderly parents in their capacity but there is a fiduciary responsibility of the government to take adequate measures for the same. This essay meticulously explores the role a government can play to address this boiling issue. The most crucial aspect in old age is health-related issues. As a nation, we need to establish critical care hospitals and nursing facilities across the country so that health facilities are accessible to most of the elderly population. Such programs on a large scale can only be implemented by the government. Many countries across the world are allowing immigrants to settle down and augment their economy so that in turn, they can use the tax revenue towards the medical care of their ageing population. Elderly care is not only limited to health but also their social well-being. Public representatives can focus on developing self-help groups and various clubs where people in their golden age can interact with each other and share fruitful experiences. This will add to their quality of life and also help in countering loneliness which is generally a problem during ripe age. To conclude, we need to take steps primarily at a macro level to take care of the elderly population and this can be only achieved through conscious and far-sighted efforts of the government. After all, we elect the government so that they can take actions that are otherwise not possible in individual capacities.