These days, most households contain computers with access to the internet.

These days, most households contain computers with access to the internet. Children are spending more time than ever playing video games on these computers. It has often been argued whether these video games are beneficial or not. I believe they do more harm than good, and will attempt to explain why in the next paragraph. Firstly, many video games entice children to spend hours glaring at a computer screen. This results in a lack of physical exercise, which, when combined with poor posture, can be harmful to the children's health. Moreover, many video games subject the children to loud music and flashing lights which provide a form of detrimental over stimulation. Finally, the themes of the majority of these games are questionable as they revolve around violence and sexuality. Yet, despite that, some people believe video games can provide certain benefits to children. I will outline some of these benefits in the next paragraph. Above all, these video games tend to be very entertaining for children. This makes them suitable as rewards for good behavior or academic achievement. Additionally, they can provide benefits of their own, in the right dosage, by acting as stress relievers. Finally, as many games are fast paced, they can improve both concentration and hand-eye coordination. However, all things considered, I think playing outside is healthier than video games. It can also be used to reward good behavior and is even better for stress relief. Video games tether our children to computer screens without any good reason to do so.