These days, more and more young people choose to stay single rather than get married. What are the advantages and disadvantages of leading a single life?

In the modern age, the belief and norms in marriage and love have changed they used to. As a result, a growing number of young people are now opting for singlehood. However, is this trend positive, or are there more drawbacks than upsides? In this essay, I will discuss the pros and cons of staying single. Let’s begin by looking at the advantages. One of the major plus points of solitary status is the fact that you have more quality time on your own. In other words, being single lets you pamper yourself more, explore your own interests as well as develop yourself to be the best version in comparison with those in relationship. Hence, settling down is now not important since you can live your life to the fullest. Secondly, Being single helps you become more independent in your own life. For instance, when you live alone, you have to handle all your problems, and make your own decision in all respects. Doing everything without any reliance on anyone else is an experience that is sometimes frightening, often challenging, but in the long run it will benefit you. What’s more, you will have more vigour to do whatever you want with your life. Turning to the other side of the argument, living costs is major downside. What I mean by this is that the burden of all costs is shouldered by one wage instead of two. You will be not able to share daily expenses with another person such as rent, utilities, cable, food and other cost of living and will pay everything by yourself. This can be quite costly in the long term rather than living together. Another disadvantage of being single would be loneliness. Many singles find it hard to combat feeling lonely at times. Life is full of lots of ups and downs, sometimes you need a shoulder to cry on the bad times, for your friends and family are not always there for you. Thus, staying in relationships may also helpful for you in this regard. All things considered, leading a single life is never easy. You need to weigh up the good points of independence, “me” time and the bad points of living costs and loneliness. Personally, I believe the most important thing is whether you have chosen staying single or getting marired, you feel content with your decision