Many people nowadays choose to socialize on the Internet. Is it a positive or negative development?

With the development of technology, a number of people communicate based on the Internet instead of confronting because of its convenience. From my perspective, this tendency has both advantageous and disadvantageous sides in equal measure, as now will be discussed. Virtual meetings can be seen as worthwhile ways due to several reasons. It helps to connect people from all over the world without long-distance communication. The Internet and social media as well can bring everyone together although they can not meet up. For instance, Covid 19 pandemic has separated family members, especially Covid 19 exposed patients or abroad students. All of them can not come home due to the fact that they have to be banned from transferring to reduce the epidemic rate. Online platforms have not only helped them know each other's situations but also encourage mental health patients. Furthermore, online information accession may be fastened so that no one would be left behind. Online interactions bring free knowledge and advice from experts although Internet users do not know about them. Moreover, concrete friendships can be built up between professionals and askers. For example, joining an online science club helps me update new inventions or well-known experiments which can be used in a thesis. On the other side of the coin, virtual platforms have permisstic aspects that people should be conscious of. If users spend hours after hours in front of the screen rather than spending time with friends and families, they might be isolated. Moreover, their real relationships might be ruined because of their ignorance. Consequently, in final cases, many relations resulted in a break-up or divorces because of the post-marital affairs, which formed through networking sites. Likewise, virtual socialization is risky which is easy for being thief identities. If users shared pictures or conversations without alteration, their information might easily be stolen by hackers. In conclusion, two major sides which derived from the communication via virtual platform desired that it has both negative and positive effects. Hence, it would be wise to take advantage of its strong points and maintain most communication with the face-to-face meeting.