air traffic control in the USA

An accident that occurred in the skies over the Grand Canyon in 1956 resulted in the establishment of the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) to regulate and oversee the operation of aircraft in the skies over the United States, which were becoming quite congested. The resulting structure of air traffic control has greatly increased the safety of flight in the United States, and similar air traffic control procedures are also in place over much of the rest of the wor B Rudimentary air traffic control (ATC) existed well before the Grand Canyon disaster. As early as the 1920s, the earliest air traffic controllers manually guided aircraft in the vicinity of the airports, using lights and flags, while beacons and flashing lights were placed along crosscountry routes to establish the earliest airways. However, this purely visual system was useless in bad weather, and, by the 1930s, radio communication was establishment = founding, launch, creation. ɪˈstæblɪʃmənt federal Aviation Administration (FAA) of the United States = a national authority with powers to regulate all aspects of flying in aircraft. ˈfedərəl ˌeɪviˈeɪʃn̩ ədˌmɪnɪˈstreɪʃn̩ (FAA) congested = full of traffic, overfilled, blocked, crowded, #empty, #clear kənˈdʒestɪd procedure = process, way, method. prəˈsiːdʒə rudimentary = basic, elementary, simple, fundamental # advanced ruːdɪˈmentri manually = by hand, physically, # mental ˈmænjʊəli vicinity (of something) = neighborhood, locality, surrounding area vɪˈsɪnɪti beacon = signal, sign, warning light, ˈbiːkən purely = entirely, wholly, totally, completely, # partly ˈpjʊəli BOOST YOUR VOCABULARY CAMBRIDGE IELTS 8 9 Tài liệu gốc Cambridge IELTS của NXB Đại học Cambridge-Mua sách gốc tại link Biên tập cuốn sách Boost your vocabulary này được thực hiện bởi Đinh Thắng & IELTS Family-Các nhóm tự học IELTS coming into use for ATC. The first region to have something approximating today’s ATC was New York City, with other major metropolitan areas following soon after.