These days, more and more business meetings and trainings are taking place online. Do the advantages of this change outweigh the disadvantages?

Virtual meetings and trainings have become a preferred choice over offline collaborations across multiple industries. Although there are a few limitations to online meetings, I believe that the benefits over-power the shortcomings. Virtual meetings are highly effective in industries where employees of various business units work in distant locations. For instance, a mining company has engineers in the mine, scientists and analysts in the corporate office. These employees work together to improve the output of the mine. The productivity of the team reduces with a constraint to organize regular meetings in physical location because of travel time. Therefore, planning the meetings online becomes an obvious choice in these scenarios. Conducting trainings online aid in reducing the cost incurred by the companies. Now-a-days, teams are highly cross-functional with the team members working from various parts of the world. Attending a training physically could restrict the number of attendees due to travel barriers or scheduling conflicts. In addition to the travel time, companies have to incur the cost on providing travel fare, accommodation and boarding expenses to the employees. This might add budget restrictions and companies may not be able to send all the eligible employees for these sessions. On the contrary, online trainings can be held with very less expenditure by building the infrastructure once. The training sessions can be recorded and made accessible to all the employees for a future reference. While conducting meetings or trainings online has a lot of advantages to offer, it comes with one disadvantage as well. People lose an opportunity to interact with others in a physical world. I think that the companies can easily overcome this limitation by encouraging offline events for the employees to meet and socialize. This concludes by stating that virtual meetings triumph offline collaborations on any given day.