These days many people prefer to communicate with others due to the wide usage of social media, while a traditional personal interaction is becoming less and less popular

These days many people prefer to communicate with others due to the wide usage of social media, while a traditional personal interaction is becoming less and less popular. I believe that this has more drawbacks than benefits. The advantage of this trend doubtlessly is that distance put between family members, friends, or companions is not an obstacle anymore in the sense of having a conversation. With the help of social media one is able to contact anybody having only a mobile phone and internet signal. Moreover, using various internet platforms would assist in finding new acquaintances worldwide for learning or practicing foreign languages, friendships, or even business. Despite this, there are significant disadvantages it can bring to people’s lives. Firstly, it means that the value of a real life conversation might be neglected, and the more time a person spends chatting on their devices, the less they perceive a true sense of in-person commitment. In addition to this, if people consumed less time being involved in online communities, they would have better ideas to connect in real life. Secondly, as the popularity of social sites is increasing, it causes serious addiction to them, and finally, even mental disorders. Instead of growing personally and professionally, an individual depends on the number of messages they receive on a daily basis, or the quality of comments other users leave under their posts or images. To illustrate, one would rather converse with somebody giving a pleasant feedback online than with those who may be sitting face-to-face and giving constructive yet important opinions offline. All in all, I would argue that although there are advantages of social media as a major communication tool, they are outweighed by the disadvantages. There ought not to be more precious than the lively human companionship.