These days, a great number of children prefer spending time on computer games rather than on sports. Why is it a positive or negative development?

There has been a sharp increase in the number of children playing games on computers instead of outdoor activities. This essay will discuss about the ill-effects this addiction is causing in young children. We are living in a digital era and inclination towards computers is inevitable. The games developed have flashy graphics and media, which are hard to overlook. So much is the addiction to the games that kids are glued to them for long hours. As a result, this shift has caused obesity amongst young children. obesity in turn acts as a catalyst to other health problems like diabetes and high blood pressure. By-passing outdoor activities for computer games not only causes physical implications but also poses a threat to the mental and social development of the young minds. Playing games with other children teaches them how to adjust with others as well as be more open to their views. It also teaches the kids life tricks as to how to be tactful as well as playful. Computer games do not teach children these concepts of life. They leave a void in their childhood with this. Many computer games have immense action in them which has made violence as an acceptable norm in their minds. Personally, I perceive, that living in digital time computer games and media are hard to part ways with. however, to use them with moderation is what we can encourage amongst children otherwise like excess of anything is bad, this too will have its impact in a negative way on their development.