There was a time when people only shopped out of necessity but these days shopping seems to have become a new form of leisure activity. People do not appreciate the value of money anymore.

It is true that the motive of people who do shopping has changed these days. Though I agree with the opinion that they do not value the worth of money, not all individuals are alike. In this essay, I will support my stand by showing that only till a certain age people are not able to understand the value of money. There are at least few people who are really shopping for needs. For instance, almost all of the family men and women analyse their requirements, income they earn and put a monthly budget. In this case, since they have to run their families and take care of their wants of everyone in the family like parents and children, they should definitely adhere to their budget and run the family. Be it a shopping from clothes or groceries or any other commodity arises only out of the dire need for it. On the other side, I also accept that number of citizens who has taken up shopping as a hobby has increased in the recent past. The poor parenting is the root cause of this phenomenon. It is quite natural that the middle-class parents pamper their children and get things done beyond their limit. As a result, the children do not have an opportunity to analyse the cost. Consequently, when this child grows up in the society, the shopping mentality remains the same. Bothering less about the need and the prize of the product, they do shopping. It should also be noted that shopping as a leisure activity remains only till a certain age limit. This new form of hobby has cropped up only among youngsters. This is proved by the recent survey on the shopping habits of men and women. Till the individuals strive hard to earn each penny, they will never ever realise the worth of it. Once they start earning, they could analyse the need and cost of the product they buy. After analysing the development it is not hard to see that shopping habits have changed in the recent decades and it is also sure that every individual will not get attracted to materialistic life after a certain age since they get matured enough to consider the necessity and cost of the products more than anything.