There seems to be an increasing number of serious crimes committed each year. While some think the best way is to use the death penalty as deterrent, many people believe that other measures will be needed.

There is no doubt that the rate of crime has gone up in recent years which has forced some people to believe that capital punishment is the best solution to this, while others think the opposite. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument. A significant part of the population believes that death penalty is the best measure to solve the increasing crime in our society. This is simply because the stricter the punishment, the lower the probability of crime. For example, in the kingdom of Saudi Arabia, if you murder someone, you will be subjected to death penalty. Due to this, people living there usually think 100 times before committing a crime. This results in a crime free society which the country enjoys. On the other hand, many people believe that there are other possible methods to cut down crime. Instead of taking the lives of the convicts, we can give them smaller punishments and allow them to correct themselves. These little punishments can help to build a society which is fearless but is also morally and ethically strong. Alternately, capital punishment builds fear among the people even if they are innocent, they live in constant anxiety. Opting to lighter punishments gives people a second chance to fix themselves and remain part of the society along with other people. In conclusion, death penalty has many benefits such as it results in a crime free society, it also has drawbacks like it does not allow people to correct themselves.