Most major cities around the world continue to grow at a phenomenal rate due to the massive increase in population. This has led to a general decline in the quality of life in city areas as the environment becomes more crowded and polluted. Give some reasons why this growth has occurred and suggest some practical solutions to this problem.

The tremendous expansion of the metropolises and the worsening environment in such areas is one of the major dilemmas in the contemporary world. Our classic towns and villages with gardens, trees and playgrounds have turned into ugly concrete jungles which have led to a deterioration in the living standards. This has primarily happened due to mass migration of population to cities for better career options. Establishment of pristine societies and self-reliant suburban systems can improve the situation dramatically. This urban sprawl could be attributed to several causes. Firstly, the migration of skilled and unskilled workers from rural to modernized societies, seeking for a better job and higher quality of life, have accelerated it. Secondly, city-centric education, healthcare and other amenities have tempted people to move to cities. This colossal movement of population to metro areas have increased the costs while declined the living standard. For instance, more than a thousand people live in one square kilometer in many South Asian cities. When population density increases to such level, it is only natural that the living standard would decrease, and pollution would reach to a staggering level. The government need to find solutions to prevent the deterioration of cities and the living standards of citizens. Firstly, this issue could be resolved by constructing pristine societies where environmental standards can rival what used to be in our cities in retrospect. Then, the states can encourage people to live in towns and rural areas by providing important facilities, such as health coverage and child benefits. Moreover, the development of the suburban area is also essential. That could be achieved by developing schools, social amenities and health care services and setting higher minimum wages in towns and rural areas. In conclusion, the explosion of profound municipalities kills our future and hope. So we, governments, civil societies and individuals, must tackle this crisis before it aggravates beyond our control.