There seems to be an increasing number of serious crimes being committed each year. While some think that the best way is to use the death penalty as a deterrent, many people believe that other measures will be needed. Discuss the both views.

While some people think that the increasing number of serious crimes can be tackled by offering death penalty to the offenders, others are of the opinion that some other measures are required. In my opinion, the government has to focus on certain measures to deal with the ever increasing number of serious crimes. On the one hand, some people believe that the crime rate will decrease if the government introduces certain measures. Firstly, vocational training should be offered to culprits while they serve their prison sentence. This will allow them to find a job after the completion of their sentence. Also when they are able to meet their needs, they are less likely to get into criminal activities in the future. Secondly, rehabilitation classes have to be conducted in prisons to educate the criminals about the aftermaths of crimes in the society. To elaborate they should be taught how crime affects the law and order situation of the society. Thirdly, the government has to organise campaigns to educate the public about the importance of accepting the criminals once they return to normal life after serving jail term. On the other hand, there are opponents who consider that capital punishment is the best way to deal with serious offences. It cannot be denied that dangerous crimes are on the rise as people think that death punishment is not awarded very often. Therefore, they argue that death penalty must be offered to crimes such as rape and terrorist activities to bring about peace and harmony in the community. In conclusion, even though people have diverse opinions about awarding capital punishment to deal with serious crimes, I think that measures such as offering vocational training and conducting rehabilitation classes in prisons will help to reduce the number of crimes to a certain extent.