Some people think that physical strength is important for success in sport, while other people think that mental strength is more important.

When sports are discussed, some people think that an ideal quality would be physical strength, while the other would argue that mental strength is more important. In my opinion, a balance between both of these key strengths would be the perfect winning strategy! Consider sports like Cricket, Football, Basketball etc, physical strength is an absolute necessity for them. It is so because firstly, these sports require the players to be on the field / court for hours together and secondly, they need to be on the move constantly. This requires an immense amount of stamina. Also, when the player needs to run as fast as possible or take a strong shot at the ball, their physical strength would drive them towards their goal. The same applies to the other kinds of sports like badminton or lawn tennis as well. Then you would wonder why do some people say mental strength is important? Well, here is the answer. While physical strength would add power to the game, the secret to actually winning is 'strategy'. How to cover the batsman so that he cannot hit the boundary, how to tackle the ball from the other team's player or how hard / soft the badminton shot needs to be so that the opponent misses it? These are some of the key ideas that require mental strength in order to win the game. When the right amount of force and tactics are clubbed together, a normal game would change into a winning game. Hard work and smart work go hand-in-hand always. In contrast to constantly running across the pitch to win points, planning smartly and strongly hitting the right boundary shots would help the team win better. Hence, in conclusion, I suggest that having a balance between physical and mental strength is very important to gain success in sports.