There is no need to attend a live performance (for example: a play or a concert) because seeing it at home on television is better.

In the past, art was something that could only be experienced in person. However, with the advent of the television, the latest permutations of which have been equipped with internet connectivity, art forms of all types from drama to music have become accessible to the masses in the comfort of their own home. Some people even propose that watching a performance on the TV screen is better and thus there is no point in seeing it live. While I understand the logic behind this sentiment, I believe a comparison between these two starkly different experience is irrelevant. On the one hand, watching a performance on TV makes more sense for the general audience. First, it is considerably cheaper than paying to see it live: watching a concert on pay-per-view, for example, is clearly more affordable than ticket concert, and streaming services like Hulu or Neflix give subscribers access to a vast library of taped live performances for a trifling fee. Second, TV audiences are guaranteed an unobstructed view of the performance. This is usually not the case with the live shows, the economics of which dictates that the average attendee is put in a spot with limited visibility while the seats that enable one to see the artists in their entirety are prohibitively costly. On the other hand, these benefits do not make watching a performance on TV preferable to seeing it in real life. For one, despite the exhaustive repository of videos available online and on TV, many artists productions, especially niched formats like musicals or magic shows, are simply unavailable. And for people who enjoy these particular forms of art, there is really no choice but to pay to go see a show. Another reason why devout live show goers might prefer seeing their favorite artist live is the interaction: the ability to shake hands with the person they have long admired from afar, teh collective cheering with fellow fans for the performers. this spontaneous human contact makes a live show electrifying in a way that TV watching frankly cannot really compare. In conclusion, it technically not necessary to attend a concet or play to enjoy it, but for the enthusiasts who appreciate art and value the experience of witnessing it firsthand, TV is a measly substitute, let alone better.