There is little that individuals can do to help the environment. Do you agree?

Nowadays, one of the biggest issues is protecting the environment and some people believe that the government and the large firms are the ones who have to do something about that. However, in my opinion, there is more that individuals are capable of doing than they know. To begin with, there is a lot that can be done about pollution. For example, if ordinary people stop using their cars all the time and take the public transport, use their bikes or just walk, this will reduce the air pollution drastically. In addition, this will also make them fitter and they will have a healthier lifestyle. Secondly, individuals are responsible for most of the household waste and if they stop dropping their litter on the streets thinking that this cannot do anything serious and start recycling, the household waste will not be such a problem. Finally, some of the people who are more informed about the causes of the environmental problems can raise awareness about this and when the individuals are well - informed, they will start caring more. In conclusion, although it is true that government and the bigger firms have a big impact on the environment, individuals are also capable of doing a lot.