There is little control over the design and construction of new homes and office buildings, and people can build in whatever style they like.

Some people argue that people can construct any style of buildings when they build new houses and buildings. While I accept that there are some benefits with this idea, I believe that the disadvantages of few restrictions to build various buildings prevail its advantages. It is true that little control over the design and construction of new homes and office buildings has some benefits because it can fill individuals’ needs. If people can build their homes freely, they can adjust the design depending on a size of household. For instance, a large group of family members may want to build a multi-story house with a large yard. In addition, people are attracted by buildings which have unique design, distinguishing the buildings from other ordinary ones. This fact could bring about a positive effect for commercial facilities. However, I insist that the drawbacks of constructing buildings without restrictions in terms of the design are greater than its benefits. This is because it can cause problems with neighbors. When people build a house which is taller than other houses, neighbors would complain a lack of sunshine. Furthermore, different design of buildings lead to spoiling the area’s landscape. When new buildings which stand out from others are built, this can destroy the unified scenery and atmosphere of existing buildings. Kyoto, which is a historic city in Japan, has a regulation regarding the colors of buildings to maintain the city’s traditional appearance. In conclusion, while it is true that there are some benefits with building houses without restriction, in my opinion, the disadvantages outweigh the advantages, because neighbours can be disturbed and the city’s appearance can become inconsistent.