People now live longer after their retirement. What problems are created for individuals and society? What are the possible solutions?

Medical advance leads to a longer life expectancy to modern urbanites. While the days with no jobs after retirement, the problem of insufficient pensions may probably cause anxiety to the elderly and burden the young generation. It is a must for an authorities’ intervention. More demand of savings, as well as financial pressure, are brought to all dwellers since the days with no income. Not only do elder people worry for their unpredicatble cost for medical needs and daily expenditures, but also concerns from the youth towards public financial burdens are raised. In particular, many studies found that huge numbers of citizens with age 65 or above, especially for the lower-income group, will suffer from depression or any related mental illnesses due to money issues. Meanwhile, heavy pressure are bring to taxpayers. Hence, the unwillingness of giving birth to their offsprings is usually higher in Japan or other countries with serious aging population problem. In order to tackle the negative effects of financial pressure after retirement, an introduction of all-rounded elderly policies should be made by the government in twofold. Firstly, more education on savings for pensions or wealth planning should be lanugched. Therefore, an increasingly amount of elderly may find their post-working life are affordable. Besides, methods for rasing their incentives for future investment are also needed. Secondly, financial aids from the authorities may necessarily help to minimize the multiplied effects on the society as the poverty problem will not affect several generations for people with low income. In conclusion, the financial problem is always the main concern after retirement. Allied with the elderly, other generations shares the same pressure. Therefore, an introduction of thoughtful aging policies, which raise incentives of saving or governmental supports to those in poverty, will be an indispensable solution to the society.