There is a question of whether families who do not send their children to government financed-schools should be required to pay taxes that support universal education or not.

There is a question of whether families who do not send their children to government financed-schools should be required to pay taxes that support universal education or not. Some people believe that every family should not be required to pay taxes because they do not receive any benefits from government financed schools. Personally, I firmly believe that those families who do not spend their children to government financed schools should be required to pay taxes for supporting universal education as well and the reasons shall be discussed in the following paragraphs. First of all, since right to education is a basic right that every child should obtain, public schools or government financed schools become the main part ensuring that children will receive basic education sufficiently and effectively. However, if some families decide to send their children to private schools, they have rights to do so as well. Nevertheless, this does not mean that they should not be required to pay taxes to support universal education. Government has to seek funds to run public schools in order to support education for their citizens, and the main source of government’s income is tax. Thus, I believe that families who do not send their children to government financed-schools still should be required to pay taxes to support universal education of the country. To summarize, it seems to me that it is not important whether families send their children to public schools or public schools, they all have to pay taxes to support universal education.