Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programs. For example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children.

Firstly, education should not be limited to strictly academic pursuits and those in education should also develop life skills, such as teamwork, empathy and self-discipline and one of the best ways to hone these aptitudes is through community service. Secondly, serving those less fortunate than ourselves teaches us many lessons including how to work with people from multiple backgrounds and the value of hard work. For example, I personally volunteered to spend 6 weeks in Africa teaching disadvantaged children and this led to a much higher work ethic when I returned to my studies. You can observe the color difference I made between main points and supporting points along with an example in green, red and blue colours respectively. Make sure you discuss the first viewpoint with relevant illustration as stated above. Try using illustrations for life skills such as: teamwork, self-discipline and empathy Now, follow the same strategies to write the second body paragraph. In this second body paragraph, you must convey strong ideas how soft skills benefit the students once they move to higher studies or offered a job in an organization. In addition, many colleges and companies are also increasingly looking for this type of experience. Most school leavers have the same grades and charitable works can help set them apart from the herd. For example, Cambridge and Oxford receive thousands of applications from straight-A grade students every year and they accept only a small percentage of applicants. Thus, what you have done outside the classroom is often the thing that differentiates you from everyone else and gets you that coveted spot.