There is a lot of discussion about the age when young people should start making their own decisions. What are the advantages and disadvantages of allowing younger teenagers to make their own decisions on matters that affect them?

Until 20 years ago, most parents used to make decisions for their younger teenagers-children aged 12 to 14 years- and refrain them from making their own choices. Nowadays this is not the case. Many younger teens prefer to make decisions for themselves and may even disagree to what their parents have decided for them. However, there are a number of advantages and disadvantages of allowing younger teenagers to be the decision-makers. These will be discussed in the following text. There are a number of advantages of allowing younger teenagers to make their own decisions on matters that affect them. The first relates to gaining confidence. By allowing children to have inputs in some of the decisions or allowing them to make their own, they can begin to feel important and have confidence in their abilities to do so. The second is concerned with taking responsibility. Younger teenagers will learn that not all decisions can be met with successful experiences, and they should learn from them. For example, when a younger teen decides to order himself a delicious looking treat from the menu but is disappointing in taste, he can learn that not all decisions have a good outcome. There are however, a number of disadvantages of allowing young teens to be decision-makers on matters that affect them. The first is associated with the brain development. The frontal lobe of a younger teen is still in its developing stage and therefore they tend to take higher risk, have stronger emotions and take impulsive decision. The second is linked to lack of understanding. At this stage of life they fail to understand the outcomes of their decisions. This will lead to distress and guilt, and they will have to make unnecessary compromises. In the end they fail to achieve what they want. For example, a teen hangs out with the wrong crowd and starts dropping out of school and smoking under peer pressure. In conclusion, the issue of allowing younger teens to make their own decisions has many advantages and disadvantages. In my opinion the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. It is important for younger teenagers to be able to select for themselves and take responsibility for their choices. Accordingly, parents should look forward to their children opting for themselves. In the future children should be allowed to take choose and taught to bear with the consequences of these decisions.