There is a big number of people who wish to live in big cities. Write an essay to discuss the advantages and disadvantages of living in big cities

Metropolises tend to attract an increasing population. While living in major urban areas presents numerous benefits in terms of accessibility to services, it also features a certain number of drawbacks related to the density of inhabitants. Both pros and cons will be discussed hereafter. The advantages of living in large cities are numerous. Firstly, as most of the companies have their headquarters and production facilities in or next to urban areas, the job market there is way more attractive than in any other place. For this reason many workers from rural parts of the country are moving into the cities in order to secure a safe job. Secondly, the most modern and best equipped medical facilities can be found next to the big towns, easing that way access to quality health services. Finally, these major cities host the most recognized schools and universities attracting students from all over the country in order to pursue their curriculums. On the other hand, inhabiting megalopolises presents many disadvantages. To begin with, due to the density of population and the bustling human activities, contamination has become a rising concern in those areas. Air pollution, noise, light and visual contamination have reached levels jeopardizing the health of its population, and leading to respiratory and nervous diseases. Moreover, the congestion in big cities have have multiplied the commuting time of workers. In big cities such as Manila or Jakarta, it is not unusual to spend 4 hours in the traffic to go to work, impacting negatively the way of life of the workers. Finally, metropolises are experiencing highest crime levels than the countryside, making these places less safe for living. In conclusion, while there are many pros and cons of living in large cities, I believe that the drawbacks outweigh the benefits, as in my opinion quality of life is better ensured in a rural environment in spite of the lack of certain services in such areas.