There have been numerous new technological advancements in the last hundred years. Because of this lot of pople think there has never been a better time to be alive. with this statement.

Humanity has made several scientific and technological advancements in the last century, which have changed people’s everyday lives and made the average person’s lifespan longer. Therefore, it is generally argued that now is the best time live. This essay absolutely disagrees with this statement. Firstly, the human race has never encountered a bigger threat in their history than now. Namely global warming which is caused entirely by human activity is said to alter the life of people very soon. Consequently, large number of people live in fear nowadays and even more feel helpless, since the average person has no influence over the factors that cause this problem. For instance, in a recent survey published by the New York Times it is stated that people have never been more anxious about their future than now. This is mostly credited to climate change. Furthermore, the most influential invention in the 21st century, the internet, has proved to have negative effects on most people’s mental health. This invention which plays a major role in almost everyone’s lives causes depression and is also addictive. There is no doubt that it can be immensely helpful. However, it causes more problems. The damage it has done is greatly exemplified by the fact that the proportion of people committing suicide has significantly increased since the number of internet users grew. In conclusion, new technological and scientifical inventions have made the average person’s life easier. Nevertheless, this new lifestyle’s drawbacks greatly outweigh its benefits. Accordingly, it was better to live before the introduction of these advancements.