there has been a huge increase in the size of cities. many cities have grown in a haphazard way. why is careful planning important in the development of cities?

There has been a huge increase in the size of cities. Many cities have in a haphazard way. Why is careful planning important in the development of UMO18 cities? Sample answer 1: In all aspects of life, planning has a role to play. It is especially important in major projects such as developing cities. This essay will provide some reasons why careful planning is important in the development of cities. Careful planning is important in the development of infrastructure. For example, all cities need efficient water delivery services and hygienic sewage disposal systems. Planning can ensure that when services are built they form an integrated, efficient system. Careful planning is also important in building developments. In most cities, more and more homes and industrial areas are being built as populations increase. Without planning, the results of this building boom could be disastrous, leading to a situation which satisfies no-one. Furthermore, planning the building of homes and factories can also allow for better integration of old and new, thus retaining the original character of the city while accommodating increases in population. Lifestyle issues also benefit from proper planning. The provision of parks, open spaces and sporting facilities enhances the quality of life of the inhabitants of cities. However, these recreation areas need to be planned; otherwise urban sprawl will leave no room for them. In addition, with careful planning a clean environment can be provided more easily. To sum up, careful planning is important in the development of cities as it can provide efficient and effective infrastructure, lead to better building practices and contribute to the quality of life of the city's inhabitants. Consequently, planning should be a high priority in all areas of development in cities.