There has always been an increase in crime rates. What are the causes and solutions to this?

There is an increase in the number of crimes worldwide. This is because of high rate of poverty as well as lack of police on the street, which can be tackled out by giving social benefits and offering more local police. One of the main causes encouraging some people to turn to crime is unemployment which, in turn, to poverty. People with low financial resources commit street crimes such as assault, robbery, arson, larceny and breaking-and-entering in order to pay bills and meet family responsibility, they have to attempt a violent crime though. Also, lack of municipal police brings about a rising opportunistic crime rate. Consequently, criminals get off very lightly and this, in turn, re-offends schooling crimes. One effective solution to deal with poverty is to increase social benefits like social welfare for the poor which provide them with food and shelter and they as a result can meet basic human needs. Also, if the government offers training programs to stimulate unemployment, people can acquire hope and structure to live, which, as a consequence, can reduce the rate of violent crime. Another view point is that increasing city police officers on the beat might put people off criminal behavior, since people will be aware that they might be taken in the act. For example, in Miami 13% of the city’s budget is spent to the police. To conclude, high rate of crime can be sorted out by overcoming poverty and increasing local police officers on the streets.