There are some people who think that harsh punishment on children is necessary as a way of education. Others believe harsh punishment has negative effects on children. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

While it is believed by a school of people that severe punishment is vital as a means of education, others show an opposite viewpoint. This essay aims at discussing both views and expressing the author’s opinion. On the one hand, there are compelling reasons accounting for administering rigorous punishment to children. To begin with, harsh punishment is considered to be an effective educational tool to adjust children’s misguided behaviors. For example, when a child behaves disobediently or disrespectfully towards others, it is crucial that their parents reprimand them timely so that they are apologetic for what they have done and avoid making that mistake again. In addition, strict punishment on children could help children form good habits as well as cultivate their self-discipline. In particular, children, who are incredibly naive and vulnerable, are expected to be negatively influenced by inappropriate amusements such as video games, uncensored movies, social media since they are not fully-fledged enough to resist such temptations. Therefore, punishment acts as a reminder that they should redress the balance of the daily schedule. On the other hand, harsh punishment can do detrimental harm to children as well. Beyond any doubt, there is a fine line between punishment and abuse; therefore, rigorous punishment could easily cross the line and negatively affect children’s health and stifle their imagination. In particular, that parents discipline their children for even minute mistakes can cause neophobia for them. Since they do not dare to experience novelties, they have little likelihood of fostering their creativity and critical thinking skills. Another unexpected effect that children could suffer if being severely punished is that they are likely to commit violence in later years. On account of their tendency to imitate adult’s behaviors, children who are exposed to corporal punishment may regard such aggressive behaviors towards others as accepted social norms. In conclusion, concerning the aforementioned analysis, imposing harsh punishment on children has its pros and cons. It is my personal conviction that punishment should be used in an appropriate way to utilize its benefits as well as alleviate its drawbacks for children.