Differences between countries become less evident each year. Nowadays, all over the world, people share the same fashions, advertising, brands, eating habits and TV channels.

Many aspects of culture and people's lifestyle are becoming increasingly similar throughout the world. Although this trend has some benefits, I would agree that the disadvantages are more noteworthy. On the one hand, global reach of fashion brands, similar eating habits of people around the globe and similar traditions have some major benefits. For instance, Starbucks, the renowned coffee chain, has grown from a single outlet in Seattle to as many as 30000 shops in around sixty countries. The global business opportunity enables many brands to sell products all around the world. Nearly identical stores serve cups of coffee to hundreds and thousands of people, the cappuccino, which is the same no matter whether you are sipping it - in New York, London, New Delhi, Melbourne or in Istanbul. People can enjoy fashion, food and other aspects of diverse nationalities staying at home country. A stronger bond could be observed among people no matter where they live. Thus the differences among nations are reducing and this is quite helpful in maintaining the world peace. On the other hand, there are some striking disadvantages of this trend that we should be concerned about. Firstly, there is a spread of cross-cultural materialistic lifestyle and attitude that makes us less human and more selfish. For example, the role of TV advertisements in most of the cases is related to the concept of materialism. This phenomenon is demonstrated in other cultures and the net global result tends to predict and reinforce terminal materialism that is buying for the sake of buying, instead of buying for the basic needs. Secondly, with the aggressive spread of market economies and communication technology, local cultures and values are in peril. The West has made an effort to undermine their cultural heritage by imposing thief religion and policies. The true identity and culture are in jeopardy with the influence of alien cultures and new generation cares less about their history and tradition and more about machine-centric life. In conclusion, it seems to me that the drawbacks of globalisation and similar lifestyle of people due to the single culture in the world outweigh the advantages.