There are more and more parents working full time. Some people argue that childcare centres are the best in taking care of children of very young age. Others think grandparents are better carer.

A child’s upbringing is a precursor for growing up into a healthy and well-functioning adult. However, since there is an increasing trend for both parents to work full time, the responsibility of childcare falls either into the hand of grandparents or childcare centres. Some argue that childcare centres are a better carers for young children, while others contend that grandparents are better nurturers. In this essay, I discuss both disparate views. From the emotional perspective, being in an unfamiliar environment such as childcare centres, a very young child might feel distressed. A distressed child might find it difficult to learn effectively. On the other hand, fully-accredited childcare centres have highly qualified teachers who are capable of nurturing and educating young children. Furthermore, children have the opportunity to learn basic interpersonal skills from a very young age that they would not otherwise have had if they were being cared for by their grandparents. In my opinion, grandparents can provide excellent care for the young ones. Grandparents know the personalities and characteristics of their grandchildren better than the teachers at the childcare centres. In this sense, grandparents are able to structure programmes that suit their grandchildren’s needs and idiosyncrasies. Children will also feel at ease being taken care of by someone they know well. However, despite their best intentions, some grandparents might not have the expertise and capabilities to take care of young children. In conclusion, I firmly believe that grandparents should provide childcare for the young children if they are emotionally and intellectually capable. Otherwise, childcare centres remain a viable option.