In today’s world, many people have become dependent on online translation applications and websites. Do the negatives of these applications outweigh the positives.

Presently, a substantial number of people have become reliant on using online translation applications and websites. While there are some drawbacks of this trend, I would argue that there are far more benefits. The main drawback of online translation that it sometimes might cause misinterpretation in meaning. This is because most of these websites and applications such as Google translation, are programmed to translate word by word into the adjacent meaning only with no account for logical or true meaning, hence many idioms and proverbs translations might seem irrelevant. For example, the English proverb ‘ if I were in your shoes’ means if I were in your situation, if this statement is translated into Arabic language, it would produce an awkward meaning. In brief, one must not rely on the literal translation, they must find out thorough details about the origins of words or statements from other languages. Having said that, admittedly online instant translation has contributed in better communication throughout the globe. This is due to fact this anyone can find out the meaning of words in matter of no time, in order to be able to exchange conversation with other people, with no need for translator. For instance, many tourists can talk with local inhabitants of their host country by using their smartphones, just by saying what they want in their mother language, and in turn, the mobile phone produces audio output to the locals with their native language. In addition, this online translation is certainly worthwhile for multinational corporations, which have various nationalities working with each other. Secondly, these applications encouraged many to learn foreign languages, based on the fact they can spend moments in translation, instead of spending long times in reading dictionaries. By ways of conclusion, although online translation might have drawbacks such as inaccurate translation in terms of true meaning, I consider it to be positive development overall.