There are many people who think that parents should choose ways for their children to spend their free time. However, there are many others who disagree and believe that children should be allowed to use their time on activities they choose.

There has been increasing debate as to whether children should take part in activities organized by their parents or they should be free to choose their activities in their spare time. On the one hand, it is beneficial for parents to control their children in their leisure activities. Firstly, by encouraging school-age children to be engaged in doing organized activities, parents can reduce the detrimental effects from technological gadgets such as computers or televisions. The reason being that children seem to be stuck behind the computer which leads to a sedentary lifestyle in children, or even an impact on their eyes as visual impairment. Moreover, parents are also the best supervisors because they know how to choose the suitable program for their children. For instance, if their children are introverted ones, they can establish a wide range of activities relating to practical experiences like team sports to foster their interpersonal skills as well as giving them a wealth of valuable knowledge about the society. On the other hand, it is advisable that adolescents have a right to pursue whatever they want to do in their free time. There would be more independence if children could occupy themselves on their own, due to the fact that this gives children freedom of thought and children learn to take up challenges and responsibilities for their actions. Whatever point of view, children need freedom in their free time, and should be free to do what they want to do. Too much leisure recreation would result in some disadvantages, such as falling into fatigue or lack of sleep. In conclusion, it is superior for children to have a balanced life and choose ways to spend their time which certainly outweigh the drawbacks.