There are different approaches on how the children should spend their free time, as many defends children should be encouraged by parents to participate in orginised group activities where there are some believes that kids should find their own passion and learn to follow their interests.

There are different approaches on how the children should spend their free time, as many defends children should be encouraged by parents to participate in orginised group activities where there are some believes that kids should find their own passion and learn to follow their interests. I will discuss both views and my stand point for this topic. There are some valid points on why the children should be encouraged and guided to be involed in activites by parents. Firstly, one of the challenging tasks of the parenting is ensuring healthy physical, cognitive and social development of the child. It is parents responsibility to observe the behaviour of the child and guide it accordingly to improve the weaknesses and strenghten the stronger characteristics. Therefore, parents should analyse and help their kid to get the most of the activities he can get access to. As an example if the child has social anxiety and avoids playing with others the parent should seek group activities where he can experiment with talking to others in safe environment. Secondly, in order to ensure the safety, parent has theobligation to research the facility and the competency of the caretakers that their child is intend to spend time with. On the other hand, some would argue this approach limits the learning capability of the young and children should decide on how to spend their free time on their own. Physicology of a child is delicate and easily impacted. While an attempt of an adult trying to guide for better, one can misjudge the needs of their offsprings and actually impair their ability to build their social skills, as decision making and damage their self-esteem. Another point is, considiration of generation gap such as in average a parent will have 20-25 year age difference with their child. What he/she considered to be beneficial might be outdated for the child. For example, my parents did not have the technology to play video games and today they consider it waste of time and they constantly pressure my younger brother. However today gaming became a sport between teenagers where they actively enage with each other. If my brother have listened, he would have never been interested in getting involved with computer science and graphic design. In conclusion, both ideas are genuine in its own way. Sometimes it is important to get involved and provide a bit of push to ensure the development. However, I think it is important for the child to find their way on their own as it is impossible to estimate on needs. In my opinion parents should listen, research and support their childrens interests for healthy improvement.