There are 2 main reasons why people today have less experience of local culture than before.

There are 2 main reasons why people today have less experience of local culture than before. Firstly, nowadays, many travel companies provide low-cost airline services to help customers save money and get to their destination quickly. As a result, many people just sit on a plane and fly to their hotels without any contact. However, in the past, people usually traveled by their personal cars or motorbikes, thus they would stop by on their way to rest, which allowed them to interact with locals and learn about their cultures. Secondly, as technology advances, people can easily get information on the internet, making them less interested in learning about the cultures of destinations where they go. Furthermore, hotel facilities are modern and well-equipped, providing visitors more alternatives for what they want to do in a resort and encouraging them to stay inside. As a result, people like to stay in luxurious accommodations where they can relax and unwind. This is very different from the past, people liked exploring and discovering new things when technology was not yet developed. In addition, the services of hotels were limited. For example, the hotels did not serve meals, so guests had to eat outside. As a result, they had the opportunity to learn about the local cuisine and also interact with local people.