 Theoretical subjects / courses at university, such as philosophy, will disappear in the future because more people are studying practical subjects like accounting and marketing.

Nowadays, an increasing number of people are more likely to pick up those practical subjects rather than theoretical subjects. Whether those theoretical subjects will be taken out of the university curricular has triggered heated discussion. In my view, I totally disagree with the view. Indeed, it is true that students are becoming fonder of practical courses because those courses are better at finding jobs. Theoretical courses teach more theories and concepts, and students who take them usually have only academic knowledge after graduation, and rarely have the skills to be applied at work. On the contrary, practical courses focus more on the practical application of students, which means that students have at least one skill that can be applied when they find a job, which employers want because they prefer employees who can create value as soon as possible for them. So that this seems to why some people think theoretical subjects will disappear. However, it is impossible for the theoretical subjects to disappear because they are the cornerstone of the practical subjects. Any practical subject comes from one or more theoretical subject in terms of the application direction, the relationship between them is like a tall building and its foundation. People generally only see the bright appearance but seem to ignore its foundation. So, assuming theoretical subjects disappear, how can employers believe that their employees who have not even learned basic theoretical knowledge can create value for them? Therefore, theoretical subjects cannot disappear, otherwise, practical subjects will disappear with them. Moreover, theoretical courses cannot disappear because they are essential for academic research. For some students interested in academic research, or some scientific research institutions, theoretical courses are more important than practical courses, because only sufficient academic foundation can support the possibility of further research. To conclude, when it comes to the issue about theoretical courses will disappear, I strongly believe that it would never happen.