THE XXI PROBLEM: AMAZON DEFORESTATION

The Amazon is the lungs of our planet, however deforestation is still destroying this wonderful resource. According to the BBC news it is home to about three million species of plants and animals, and one million indigenous people. The rainforest slows down climate change, in other words it is crucial for our existence. The first deforestation occurred in the 1970s since that has been extended until now. A staggering quantity of trees have been cut down. . Brazil, where the rainforest covers the majority of earth, had compromised to stop logging the trees. Nevertheless, the actions are the opposite of the commitment. Whereas, what are the reasons? First, Brazil's president Jair Bolsonaro, who pledged to raise the Brazilian economy, was convicted. Brazil’s economy is based in agriculture and mining activities which accelerate deforestation. Furthermore, people have started consuming more meat than previous decades. For instance, Junk food is being eaten by a considerable amount of people. We can look at recognizable chain food like Mc donalds. Finally, a grand number of exports that Brazil does are natural resources like ore, fiber, gas, etc. To conclude, the amazon life is in rik, so the best way we could contribute is by taking actions, like the proverb, “actions speak louder than words”, For this reason, we had better cut back on eating meat. We must prevent products that are related to illegal forestation.