The World’s oceans are filling up with waste plastic. What are the reasons for this, and how can the situation be improved?

Nowadays, the oceans around the world are facing severe pollution caused by increases in the amount of waste plastic. The essay will highlight some main reasons and propose a range of measures that could address the situation. There are many reasons explaining why these days, there are many beautiful beaches with golden sand that are gradually covered by garbage. One of these is that people’s poor awareness of environmental protection. In addition, the ocean is common property, so they think they do not need to protect it. For example, many visitors go to the beaches to go a dip and picnic with their friends and relatives who bring food and drinks. However, they do not clean up their trash such as plastic bags, bottles that directly throw them on the beaches and then when tide rises, waves wash them out to sea. Furthermore, in developing countries, the rising number of people use plastic products lead to recycling centres are overloaded, hence, they threw them into the sea. However, numerous solutions can be considered in order to deal with this growing waste plastic of both citizens and local officials. The government should enact more laws to protect the marine environment and invest in the waste treatment process. Moreover, teachers should also educate students about the harmful effects of garbage and encourage responsible protection of the sea environment. For instance, Vietnam has set many collection areas for recyclable materials near the beaches to ensure that citizens are easily accessible and organize many garbage collections with the participation of students. In conclusion, the increasing amount of waste plastic has raised alarming matter bells about pollution oceans. Therefore, authorities should take effective methods to solve this issue.