Most schools give their students grades based on their performance. Why do so many schools utilize this method of students evaluation? In what ways does this affect students?

In recent days, it is a controversial view whether the majority of teaching institutes should follow their pupils' academic ability to give them accurate scores. While there are various reasons for them to do this, I believe that grading relied on their performance has a negative impact as it can make them worry too much about their results. To begin with, the two primary reasons why many schools utilize this method of students assessment is that grades offer a means of determining progress and a correct teaching method. In the first place, giving grades based on students' ability shows students how they are studying in their classes and what they need to do to improve their grades. In fact, recent research has shown that receiving low marks in specific subjects motivates students to make an effort in ameliorating their scores. Another reason is that teachers can define an appropriate teaching method for a section of students. Some weak pupils, for instance, tend to lose the original lesson, and teachers can judge their academic ability through testing exams regularly and give a pertinent solution. Nevertheless, critics of the previous idea believe providing scores for students still comprises adverse effects on their health and the social relationship because they focus too much on results. Due to daring an extreme exam, students are under academic pressure to achieve good grades; they can endure stress a long time and may even suffer psychologically. SAT exam, as a particular example, plays a significant role in the international university admissions process and requires a pretty high score; and according to the survey of many examinees, the majority of them experienced a period of mental crisis related to disorders resulting from the pressure of this exam. Another one is that their friendship can be deteriorated by focusing too much on exams. This can explain by many actual situations in many schools; students tend to study no matter what time and abandon interest from their friends. In other words, this is a way leading to the alienation in friendship affection. In conclusion, it is indisputable that giving grades based on students' performance help them in study progressing; however, it seems to be detrimental effects in terms of their health and friendship.