The world today is a safer place and governments should stop spending large amounts of money on their armed forces.

There is a long time that no world war has taken place. In comparison to all soldiers were lost on the battlefield in the last world war about seventy years ago, people now live in peace and with no conflict. Thus, it has been argued as no major nations of the world are not involved in a war now, it should be better to not assign a huge budget to military forces. On one hand, it is true that we have not had a war between most of the countries of the world at the same time since 1945. One important reason could be the military power of countries. In my view, this helps governments to prevent war. To give an example, if Ukraine had more powerful military some years ago, Russia would never attack with them. So spending a significant amount of money on armed forces will bring national security and also obviously it will be very helpful especially in defence against threats. On the other hand, assigning whole a country's budget to the military, not only waste a lot of money, but also create tension mostly for neighbouring countries. In fact, a balanced budget should be assigned to armed services otherwise we will see people's discontent. Moreover, having the most dangerous weapons like atomic bombs can lead to destructive consequences. However, peace should be achieved through international engagement. Furthermore, investing on armed forces instead of spending money on a great number of contemporary matters like natural disasters can put human existence in jeopardy. To summerize, to my mind, after about a hundred years ago from World War Two, an appropriate budget on armed forces with proper international relations will bring peace and security for a country.