The world of work is changing rapidly and employees cannot depend on the same job anymore. Why? What could be done to help employees prepare for a better career?

The ever-changing work market no longer allows people to cling on to the same job throughout their whole career. While such change can be attributed to technology and globalization all over the world, it is highly suggested that employees should be equipped with a transferable skill set and a positive attitude to stay relevant for the job market. Technological advancements and globalization have disrupted many traditional industries, leading to the loss of countless jobs. First of all, as artificial intelligence is being developed rapidly, machines can now perform complex tasks. This means that tenacious and repetitive jobs are likely to be replaced in the near future. To illustrate, when auto-driving machines come into effect, they will undoubtedly render taxi drivers or airplane pilots jobless. Secondly, companies nowadays tend to expand their market by operating internationally. As a result, they start outsourcing and optimizing their workforce for cost efficiencies and inevitably cut down on staff. Employees are most vulnerable to this change, and therefore should take preparations in order to cope with it effectively. First and foremost, it is required that workers adopt new mindsets and attitudes to adapt to changes in the working environment. This can be done by trying to increase competitiveness, avoid complacency, be willing to learn and take on risks. In addition, acquiring transferable skills such as languages or computer skills are essential if they want to stay relevant for the employment market. These skills allow them to grasp new career opportunities and no longer depend on any certain job. To sum up, while the rapid change in the work market is down to technological advancements and globalization, one should be able to deal with this contemporary issue by being mentally prepared for any changes as well as equipping themselves with adequate skills.