The world is consuming natural resources faster than they can be renewed. Therefore it is important that products are made to last. Government should discourage people from constantly buying more up to date and fashionable products.

The increase consumption of the natural resources produces demerit effects globally. To combat these issues, products should be long-lasting and the government should restrict the population from acquiring updated products in the market. I personally agree with the statement. It is true that the natural resources are gradually diminishing than they can be rehabilitated. Over population is a factor that causes these negative effects which greatly affect the whole species in the planet. Consequently, people should help in curbing this trend for the future inhabitants. For instance, using eco-friendly and decomposable materials in replacement of plastics, which takes centuries to decompose. In addition, manufacturers should produce products that are capable for long term use and incorporating environmental safe elements. Fashion brands could use elements that are reusable and trendy at the same time. Moreover, the government could promote programs that could save the environment from further damage. Regulations on purchasing of up-to-date products and providing honest reviews could also benefit the society and the environment as well. In addition, authorities can also help the small business owners that sell sustainable products by advertising them to the general public for free. The government could also provide alternatives such as investing in hydropower plant for electricity or the use of solar energy which is free from the sun. Educating the general public about the harmful effects of reduction in natural resources could make them more cognizant towards their actions and habits. To sum it up, the government and its citizens should help one another to save the environment for the present and future generations to come. These could be possibly done by using sustainable materials and providing alternative ways.