The world is changing very quickly, such that workers today need to constantly update their skills in order to stay competitive. Thus, some believe that it is better to have one highly developed skill rather than try to be good at many things. If you had to choose just one skill to master, which skill would that be? Why?

People nowadays have realized that they should have mastered at least one professional skill in order to help themselves in this highly competitive age. As to myself, I would choose to acquire programming skills which could definitely benefit me in different aspects. An obsolete programmer is hugely demanded by various sectors ranging from private to public organizations. With the popularity of so-called “Work From Home”, which is regarded that employees can remotely handle with their companies’ business at home instead of in a corporation’s office, most organizations have to update and enhance their current systems so as to cater to the trend. For instance, many companies might not have cloud storage or a platform that provides a way for their workers to have access to companies' data. The companies do only have a local database which will limit their employees from getting the data outside the office. As a result, the companies might need to recruit a number of sophisticated programmers to complete the project. The process of migrating an old system into a new one is absolutely not an easy task as a system always involves multiple parties and design layers. Only an experienced technician could organize and migrate the data in a systematic way. Therefore, many companies are willing to provide an attractive package to hire a well-trained programmer, including a well-paid salary and well-rounded coverage of medical insurance and housing allowance. Besides, programming languages have no boundary in territory, meaning that the programming languages can be read wherever the programmer comes from. Many programmers thus could choose to work and live in different countries where there are so many developed countries like Canada, United states of America and Australia welcoming IT professionals. To conclude, with ideal offers in terms of money and freedom of movement available to a skilled programmer, it is no doubt that I would select programming as my lifelong skill set.