Harmful effects of video games and television on children's mental health

The video game industry along with television industry has boomed since 2000's due to technological advancement. Not only that, these products are easily accessible to everyone because of fall in price. According to some people, indulging in these activities is harmful to children's mental health. Although I disagree with this statement to some extent, it is true in some scenarios. Reasons justifying my reasons will be discussed in the upcoming paragraphs. To embark on, one the merits of using television and video game is that can act like a stress buster. Children nowadays have a very busy schedule as they have to work at jobs, while also studying for school which results in a lot of stress. These games and other similar services allow kids to relax and enjoy while sitting at the comfort of their home. Additionally, since there are so many varieties of games and TV shows to choose from, it can make children happy which results in improved mental state. However, there are some disadvantages to for using these services. One of the biggest flaw of these services is that it is very addictive, which in some children, can cause children to procrastinate and even hallucinate. This is very harmful as it can impact a student's personal and social life like withdrawing away from their friends and family just to play some game or watch some show. To conclude, overconsumption of entertainment products can cause serious damage to a person, however, if done in moderation, it is a great source of entertainment and a good stress reliever.