The world has been rapidly changing due to the impact of COVID-19 pandemic and it will remain different in many ways.

The world has been rapidly changing due to the impact of COVID-19 pandemic and it will remain different in many ways. Perhaps, one of the most significant changes is the way that people work. Before the pandemic began, the uptake of flexible working was slow and only around 5% of the workforce in the UK were benefited from ways of working flexibly in the pre COVID-19 world (CIPD, 2020), but it has significantly increased at the beginning of the first lockdown to about 45% (ONS, 2020a and 2020b). Although, it is too early to predict the future trend of flexible working based on the current situation, but a recent survey by YouGov (2020) found there are now early signs that many workforces are willing to continue to some degree to work flexibly even when the current restrictions are lifted and the pandemic is over. (144) Currently, the main questions for a plethora of organisations, such as Leeds City Council, are what will the new post pandemic normal look like and which working practices should be adopted when they are planning to bring their employees back to workplaces. The answers to those question would navigate to identify what changes needed for embracing better ways of working in the “new normal” as well as to maximise the benefit from a balanced flexible working. It is probably fair to say that the new normal workplace for many people unlikely to be as the same one when they will come back to.