Some people think that sports play an important role in the development of society. Others think they are nothing more than a leisure activity.

The history of people playing sports stretches back to prehistoric era, which just proves the fair point that it is part of our life. Some just take part in a range of sports for fun, while others are convinced that sports have more crucial roles to play in the prosperity of our society. I am personally more inclined to the latter group’s arguments due to the influential effects of sports on multifaceted levels. To begin with, there is no doubt that sports play a huge role in our society at many tiers. The physical gains of engaging in sports have been proven and validated countless times. It helps lower the risk of developing a multitude of illnesses, in particular, cardiovascular diseases, such as myocardial infarction, hypertension, diabetes or infections related to weakened immune system. When people are less likely to suffer from these, which are preventable to a certain degree, they can be more productive at work, as they would obviously call in sick less often, and have more energy to carry on their daily tasks. By being more dedicated to their work, each individual can function in a more desirable way and can be a valued member of his or her society. The upside of sports is gaining more importance in other aspects as well. The enormous psychological benefits we can reap range over a huge spectrum. For example, taking part in team sports like basketball or volleyball can not only give the participants a sense of belonging and achievement but also significantly boost their essential skills such as teamwork, cooperation, communication skills, and problem-solving skills. Another intriguing part that sports play in our neurological domain, which caught my attention lately, is their impact upon our cognition and memory. The theory of brain plasticity supports what we learn even when we are old can add to our cognitive skills, likewise what we do with our body also helps strengthen the intricate connection of the neurons in our brain. Given that the influence of regular exercise on our memory skill is humongous, we should not underestimate its role in both individuals and the society as a whole. Certainly, there are a multitude of people who just love playing sports and there is nothing wrong with that. They consider that sports are there to solely serve the purpose as a leisure activity. Playing sports to unwind and socialise with others, though, still plays a positive role in our life, broadening our social circle and sometimes giving us the opportunity to push ourselves out of our comfort zone. For instance, when you play group sports, you often encounter people from all walks of life, and at times share exceedingly valuable experience. Or, if you try something totally new, that challenge alone may boost self-confidence and self-esteem. In conclusion, whereas some view sports as a mere leisure time activity, others including myself consider that they have contributed to the development of our society by touching each one of us to enjoy our life more fully.