Nowadays most green energy is becoming evermore prevalent in both developed and developing countries. Some argue they greatly reduce costs and are better for the environment, others believe they are a serious threat to energy security.

In recent times, most of the countries across the globe are using renewable sources of energy. People are divided in their opinion about whether the extensive use of such resources is better for the environment or is an unreliable resource due to its uncertain availability. In this essay, I will examine both these views and explain why it is best to use green energy. Natural source of energy is far better for the environment than the non-renewable energy source as former do not cause pollution and is not replenishable. For ages, especially during the industrial revolution, developed countries had been using fossil fuels as a major source of energy, leading to an increase in air pollution and global warming. Finally, countries have realized the damage the latter energy resources cause and thus, moved to the green revolution. Green energy such as solar, wind, and hydro energy not only is a cost-effective substitute but also causes no harm to our planet Earth. In a research, it was found that effects of global warming have reduced greatly in Texas, USA ever since solar energy has been used as the source of electricity in the area. Not only that, residents of the state are enjoying the reduced electricity bills too. Therefore, I believe that renewable energy resource is indeed better for the environment and is quite cost-effective. However, some may argue that renewable resources are not secure energy sources as they are not sustainable in the long run. Even though non-replenishable, these sources are dependent on various factors with no human-control to be able to be utilized to their maximum potentials. Tidal energy, for instance, relies upon high tidal waves to provide electricity, which could fluctuate depending upon the wave strength on a particular day. Nonetheless, this drawback can be catered by introducing a power plant with a great storage system so that the energy produced on a high tide day could be stored and consumed on a low tide day. Overall, the threat of energy unavailability caused by going green is not as serious as some portray. In conclusion, the natural resources are not only environment friendly but pocket friendly too. Moreover, the numerous advantages of green energy and high-tech power plants outweigh the unwarranted concern people have regarding energy security.