Some people think that having a set retirement age (e. g. 65 years) for everybody, regardless of occupation, is unfair. They believe that certain workers deserve to retire and receive a pension at an earlier age. Which types of workers do you think should benefit from early retirement?

The argument that a fixed retirement age is not applicable for, and therefore, does not do justice to, individuals belonging to different industries is valid. There are, however, opponents of this idea who believe in a set retirement age across the board. I believe that a set retirement age, one which does not take into account their job description and responsibilities, cannot be imposed on employees due to the fact that such a notion neglects the stark differences between various individuals and their physical and mental capabilities as well as the distinct requirements of different industries and employment sectors. The main reason that a fixed retirement age is unfair to individuals is that it ignores their individuality and the requirements of their job sector. For instance, the nature of the job of manual labor workers is physically demanding, and therefore, they may not be as agile and active as they were in their younger years. Therefore, it is imperative that they be retired before their physical condition deteriorates and to ensure that they do not meet with accidents at work. Similarly, specialized doctors and surgeons, particularly those who perform life-saving operations, should be given the option to retire early if they are not as cautious or efficient as they were, as any mistake by them can cost a patient his/her life. Moreover, a variable retirement age would mean that workers would be able to relax and enjoy life, while they are physically able to instead of waiting to get old to do everything they've planned of doing, such as travel, all the while the government pays them a pension to repay them for their contributions to the economy, which can be a welcoming change for many. On the other hand, there may be many workers who do not wish to retire prematurely, mainly due to various financial considerations as their pensions may merely be a percentage of their salaries and not sufficient to cover their living expenses. but also because they still wish they still are capable of performing their jobs effectively. Furthermore, early retirement may also overburden the economy owing to a smaller workforce, and the government which may now not have enough resources to provide for the employees who choose to not continue with their jobs. In conclusion, I believe the benefits of such a proposition outweigh the drawbacks. I strongly support the argument that there should not be a fixed retirement age for people, and instead, the age at which one retires should take into consideration the requirements of the job and the industry as well as the capabilities of the individual himself/herself.