In some schools and universities, girls tend to choose art subjects and boys tend to choose science subjects. Why do you think this is so? Should this tendency be changed?

Although the number of female students applying for science-based subjects and their counterparts that are choosing to follow the path of art subjects have been on the increase over the last decade, it is evident that there still exist certain preferences depending on the gender. I believe that this has occurred owing to the social norms and expectations, which need to be critically analysed and transformed. What we choose to study often have a significant impact on our life. In the course of deciding what subject we are going to study, we often come to a decision by implementing what we have been exposed to either directly or indirectly, as well as obliviously the norms and expectations of the society in which we have grown up. For example, if there is a degrading stigma attached to females working in a mining site as a miner or an engineer in a society, those who grew up, having such an idea implanted in their subconsciousness, would be reluctant to choose that path. On the contrary, if they are from more enlightened, educated and genuinely supportive family background and were raised to make their voice, they are less likely to just conform to a certain gender role in attempt to avoid the criticism and doubtful gaze from other people. So, do we really need to actively reverse the trend of proportionally different female and male student ratio in certain faculties? To a certain extent, I think, yes. If some male nurses or primary school teachers and female doctors or engineers are treated differently in their workplace as well as in their society, I consider that it merely reflects the shortcomings of our probably the most advanced and developed society in human history. In order to achieve more balance, I strongly believe, students should be allowed and encouraged to actively explore their interests and potential, and how much supportive a society can be in helping them to achieve this goal decides its openness, flexibility, potential to prosper, and thrive. In conclusion, I am of the opinion that for a change to occur, this somewhat apparently disproportionate gender-based academic or career choices in the humanities and science faculties requires more holistic and analytic approach, preferably taking into account the underlying social norms and expectations that reside in our society.